OriginalCulture: Latin American Boom Crave

 The library, as always, yields great inspiration for me and I found myself deep into Frida Kahlo’s surrealism last week.  How cool it would have been if Gabriel Garcia Marquez had used she and Diego Rivera’s relationship as a vignette in a long line of ancestral stories in one of his books?  This caused me to look deeper into the literature of the Latin American Boom and other authors and poets whose career’s may have been encouraged by the movement.  Then, by the help of Free Penny Press,  I found out about art.sy and my world was changed.

I took a journey into the world of Latin American art past and present.  Join me in this little trip through the Latin American Boom HERE, but more importantly, share your thoughts:

Have you ever read any of these works or seen any of this art.  Have you ever felt scared or worried to teach or talk about a particular subject in a particular context?  Has responsibility ever held you back from doing, saying or creating something you wanted to?  

2 responses to “OriginalCulture: Latin American Boom Crave

  1. I used to teach Gwendolyn Brooks’ “The Last Quatrain of the Ballad of Emmett Till” (http://allpoetry.com/The-Last-Quatrain-Of-The-Ballad-Of-Emmett-Till) at the Southern university where I worked. Because Till’s mother insisted he be buried in an open casket after his brutal murder (to show the world how much her child had suffered), I would show them photographs of Till before and after the beating.

    I could never teach that unit without breaking down and crying in the classroom. Those photos still haunt me, but my students were often fairly callous towards the issue of race until I forced them to confront some brutality directly. I don’t know if the only thing they learned was how crazy sensitive their English teacher was, but I tried.

    • You did a great thing. When I started working in the Mississippi Delta, I went on a historical tour and learned about what had happened to Emmett Till. I was shocked I had never learned about it before and horrified that it happened. I did not know the part about his mother doing an open casket, but I completely understand why she would. I don’t think we’ve come far enough as a society since then and that deeply saddens me. This should be taught in school more often. I’m glad you tried to open some eyes.

Leave a Reply

