Soft Thuds Can Still Thunder Loudly. Let the Sirens Chirp Their Warnings.

OUT  OUTOUT INNNNN | OUT  OUTOUT INNNNN

STEPSTEPSTEPSTEPSTEPSTEPSTEPSTEP

Small feet peddle soft thuds.

Metronomes smack a steep rhythm

against the conCrete or the cretins.

 x

OUT  OUTOUT INNNNN | OUT  OUTOUT INNNNN

STEPSTEPSTEPSTEPSTEPSTEPSTEPSTEP

 x

“Please slow down, you’re home now.”

Here. But I can’t stop running them.

Suburban asphalt tributaries.

 x

OUT  OUTOUT INNNNN | OUT  OUTOUT INNNNN

STEPSTEPSTEPSTEPSTEPSTEPSTEPSTEP

Invisible woman:

Older, long coats, walks before me.

I whisper, “Left.” Human courtesy.

x

OUT  OUTOUT INNNNN | OUT  OUTOUT INNNNN

STEPSTEPSTEPSTEPSTEPSTEPSTEPSTEP

 x

Passing in a shared time

Where she is me and I am her

Silence allows the baton to pass

OUT  OUTOUT INNNNN | OUT  OUTOUT INNNNN

STEPSTEPSTEPSTEPSTEPSTEPSTEPSTEP

 x

Put on my monster face:

Nostrils flared, teeth bared, lips curled out

I watch them unrecognize me now

 x

OUT  OUTOUT INNNNN | OUT  OUTOUT INNNNN

STEPSTEPSTEPSTEPSTEPSTEPSTEPSTEP

 x

Underestimate me, now.

Grass so tall, I’m high-stepping now.

At the top, smaller; feeling taller.

 x

OUT  OUTOUT INNNNN | OUT  OUTOUT INNNNN

STEPSTEPSTEPSTEPSTEPSTEPSTEPSTEP

 x

Thunder makes an impact

Even though it cannot hurt us.

Sirens chirp, when the music is loud.

6 responses to “Soft Thuds Can Still Thunder Loudly. Let the Sirens Chirp Their Warnings.

    • Thank you so much for reading! I always get super excited anytime anyone reads my poetry as I know that’s not always the most popular blog content. I appreciate you visiting and reading.

Leave a Reply

