Tea Leaves Found: Bottom of Dreams

Grind coffee in the dark:

sounds hollow, feels hollow

a spring is loose,

machine malfunction-

must push restart.

x

So I crawl into warmth

back underneath cover.

Slumbering skin

radiates comfort.

Sleep takes over.

x

An extra set of dreams:

walking down the middle

of busy streets.

He holds out a cup

it matches mine.

x

“Wouldn’t you like a cup?”

I hold mine out-“I don’t

need another,

not in the market

for a copy.”

x

With my cup full, I watch:

Nude, wrinkled bodies walk

across street

they are giggling

I don’t know why.

x

“There’s more fun to be had!”

They turn around to say

the only clothes

they wear: umbrellas

shield elements.

x

I wake again into

a new day, new shower

to wash away

the day that needed

rapid repair .

x

Tea leaves found below dreams

tell what’s waiting for me.

I am inspired.

I scribble naked-

giggling secrets,

x

“There’s more fun to be had today.”

10 responses to “Tea Leaves Found: Bottom of Dreams

Leave a Reply

