Safety

Eyes

flutter open

through sodden sleep,

through dark lashes.

x

Lips

shift up:

a sanguine smile,

a safe simper.

x

Flutter shut-

flutter open-

with a

simple smile

again.

x

Flutter shut-

flutter open-

windows without

curtains

again

x

to another

watching set,

a loving set,

of eyes,

of lips

to kiss

again.

6 responses to “Safety

    • Thanks! I actually got this image way before I put this poem together when I was studying at Worcester College in Oxford, UK. We went on a long walk to Port Meadow one weekend and I saw this old convent (the one in the picture) and the glass-less windows really got to me. I thought about this convent a lot after that. I still don’t even know the name of it, but it was such a cool thing to see. Thanks for reading this and for the comment!

Leave a Reply

