OriginalMood:Fall

It’s not original in any sense, but lately I’ve been in a fall mood.  This is clearly no surprise as it is now the very early beginning of September and Halloween decorations, sweaters and pumpkin paraphernalia already decorate all venues of mass consumption meant to make you think you discovered the season including Halloween and Thanksgiving on your own when really it is fully by design.  Fall does not necessarily need to be associated with a change in the weather.  If stores decided to start selling fall clothes in May while toting pumpkin everything, I’m fairly confident the season could take place in the middle of summer.

Photo Credit: H&M Lana Del Rey

September is an awkward month.  A few leaves may be on the ground, but the sun is still in a crispy state when you’re walking around town during the day, much too warm to wear a sweater, but you’ve already bought some new fall clothes and decide to wear it anyway, no matter the cost.  So, the dying embers of summer, still capable of burning you despite it being “fall” and despite the atmosphere starting to look like fall too, seep through the cotton, cashmere or wool and start to warm your soul a little as you perspire- even if you try so hard to be “original” in the face of a fake season brought on by the consumerist society in which you live.

Pumpkin Spice Latte

Photo Credit: Starbucks Pumpkin Spice Latte

What put me into the fall mood?  Well, it was actually a journey to Waffle House last Saturday morning with my boyfriend.  In order to survive the mass caloric intake without gaining weight in one solitary meal, we decided to walk to the Waffle House around the corner instead of driving there.  The simple act of walking brought us back to our collegiate days in which we walked to the dining hall, up Freshman hill or to the football games this time of year.  Already nostalgic, we were further reminded of school when everyone at Waffle House seemed to don their college football tees and discuss the schematics of upcoming games at the counter (you know it’s almost like watching TV at Waffle House because the people at the counter are right there in the middle of everything and seem to talk as if they are on stage anyway).

But, there’s something about Waffle House itself, maybe the colors, maybe the comfort food, maybe the yellow dangling teeth in the sky bearing its name, calling you inside that brings about a fall feeling.  The hanging bulbous lights against an off-white tile, the laminate wood tables and the atmosphere that makes you think of Friday Night Lights before and or after a football game inspires a scholastically-fall feeling.  Everyone eating breakfast with us that morning seemed to be “in it,” with us even though none of us knew each other.  There was just this swell of college football pride and a feeling that we were all in this changing season together.

Music also seems to set the mood and lately there have been several artists on my mind.  I’ll start with The Black Keys because their music reminds me of school.  Particularly, of Mississippi and perhaps that is because I discovered them while I was teaching in Clarksdale, MS.  When I hear The Black Keys, I think of Ground Zero, the blues club co-owned by Morgan Freeman and Bill Luckett in Clarksdale where you can hear really great bands, you can scrawl in Sharpie on the wall and get a fried catfish sandwich.  The Black Keys have never played there, but I get that same sort of rustic feeling, that fall feeling when I listen to them.

Lana Del Rey, Mumford and Sons and also the Avett Brothers are also on my fall soundtrack this season. While I’ve been observing the small details of fall and writing away at a new short story, my graphic novel and various poems, these details find their way into the plot lines.  The music on my Pandora playlist could very easily be playing in the background of any of my settings.  Stories could take place in venues like Ground Zero or in the crispy sun of early fall.  I can’t seem to shake it.


On the docket for this weekend: taking the GRE, reading more C.K. Williams, perhaps wearing a sweater at a coffee shop somewhere and listening to Lana Del Rey listlessly staring out a window, watching college football with family and friends, and baking something pumpkin-y or nutmeg-y.  What are your “original” fall plans? What’s your “original” mood as of late?

155 responses to “OriginalMood:Fall

  1. I have certain things that I think of when fall comes around. Last year I had a baby in October so we stayed for the first few weeks at home. I would record my favorite tv shows at night and then catch up on them in the morning while he slept. I could get a big (BIG) cup of coffee and just relax and enjoy the cool mornings. I am so looking forward to doing that again even though this year he will be running all over the place. Funny how different seasons make me sentimental!

    Amy

    • I can totally relate, Amy! I’m so nostalgic. Everything that was once a happy time, always comes back to me when a similar context arises. Your comment inspires me to relax and drink a pumpkin spiced latte on my back porch tomorrow morning! Maybe it will help me to do well on the GRE. I hope you got to relax and enjoy the changing season this morning! Thanks for reading. I love your blog and can’t wait to continue reading!

    • I’m so glad! Great word, by the way (pump[kin]ed, LOVE IT). Can’t wait to read and follow your blog. Thanks for visiting and reading, I hope you were able to enjoy a spiced latte or fall treat of some sort while blogging away today.

  2. I’m not ready for Autumn yet. I’m still enjoy the dregs of summer. I’m ignoring all the wooly jumpers in the shops and the Christmas cards on the shelves. Why do we have to move through the seasons so quickly? On to the next before the previous one is really getting started. We’re so impatient. And September is the loveliest month.

    • I agree! It’s like TV, Movies, Blog posts (like this one), fashion, music, food, etc, all start to turn a tide on a schedule toting different wares for each season. I’m glad you’re able to tune it out and enjoy every bit of summer! Thanks so much for reading and for visiting. Can’t wait to read more of your blog!

    • You have no idea! I’m very easy to please and open to all forms of music. I also love hip hop (Drake, Tyga, Two Chains, Nicki Minaj, etc), world music (instrumental from various other countries) and classical music (Schubert especially). I meant to also mention the XX who is more in line with Lana Del Rey in the kind of dreamy ethereal sound. Isn’t it funny how regardless of whether or not something actually relates to the season, you begin to associate whatever it is with that season simply because of the context. Thanks for reading and following! Can’t wait to read more of your blog.

  3. I was fool enough to think that the chill in the air this morning meant that I would be able to pull off a sweater. Wrong. I got in the car after work and almost boiled to death.

    I do wish that fall would hurry up and just decide to stick around. It’s particularly deceiving here because the trees on the mountains decided to change color early this year, so when I look out my window all I can see are the yellow, orange and rust colors popping out at me. The scent of the fall candles I’m (already) burning aren’t helping much either…

    Darn you, deceitful weather.

    I totally agree with you on this topic. Thanks for the post!

    • Thank you for reading! I also experienced a near-boil after work when I left the icebox that is my office into 99 degree heat (which in the car is probably 110 degree heat!) It’s hard not to get in the fall mood, if only we could control the weather like we do the seasons (through media, food, etc, we could have it all 😉

  4. Very excited for fall! Dying to break out my sweaters, boots, and scarves! It helps that my college keeps all the building freezing…good excuse for wearing sweaters even the outdoor temps are still high.

    • I can totally relate! My office is freezing which is perfect because I can be the first to wear the new fall collection at H&M and various other places! Thanks for visiting and reading! I hope you get to enjoy a fall treat while you blog away today (pumpkin muffins? Ya, they’re already in stores!)

  5. I miss my hometown so much right now and this just put me over the edge. I recently relocated to L.A. from Seattle and everything is so different here, weather included. I want my Fall back! I want orange leaves and hot coffee and flannel. I don’t want crop tops and Nicki Minaj blasting out car windows. I’m not sure if I’m in a “fall” mood so much as I’m homesick, but I definitely miss both. Great post and nice music choices.

    Best,
    theyellowranger

    P.S. Good luck with the GRE. I got pretty average scores, but I’m thinking about re-taking it. Dunno yet.

    • Thank you for reading! I can understand being homesick. I’m always nostalgic for the other places I’ve lived: FL, MS and when I was away from GA, I missed it completely.

      I should be studying right now, but I’m too busy blogging to be bothered, so most likely I’ll be retaking it as well, haha. Whatever, so worth it.

      I hope you get to find some things to love in your new home. Eventually, you’ll get homesick for this one, too I’m sure! Although, I love Seattle too and I’ve only been there once. That’s definitely a tough place to leave.

      Thanks for visiting and reading! I can’t wait to read more of your blog.

  6. Enjoyed reading this post ! To me, fall is all about colors brought to us by nature. Luckily, I am going to New Hampshire this year.Eagerly looking forward to see the fall colors there.
    🙂

    • Oh ya, I’ve only seen a couple of crispy leaves on the ground here in GA thus far, but I remember going up to Great Falls with my boyfriend in VA and the color of the leaves and the air out there was soo fall-y. It was truly amazing to see what nature has to offer this time a year. I hope you enjoy your trip to New Hampshire and the impending season! Thanks for reading, I look forward to following your blog!

      • Thanks for following! You know I really wish to cover the foliage this time and I am just hoping the trip turns fruitful.Glad I found you,shall have the privilege to read your posts.

        🙂
        Cheers
        Sayori

  7. Great post. Weird to be reminded of Fall when it’s all Springy and flowery and fresh and new here in the southern hemisphere, but still an excellent read.
    🙂

    • Well to be honest, that was why it was so weird that I was in a fall mood! It was 99 degrees here today, but something about the change from August to September makes me start feeling that way anyway! Thank you for reading and I hope your springy, flowery season is just as awesome as our impending fall! Can’t wait to follow your blog!

  8. Oh, I love this post. I am such a fall person and I always claim it as ‘mine’ though I know others have the claim for themselves. I’d say I totally feel everything in your words. For me, fall starts earlier because I’m in the mountains, but yeah, that crispy sun feel is still here baking us. Rituals are listening to James Taylor’s Greatest Hits and October Road. Mumford and Sons is most definitely a fall playlist too, and I have had that on repeat several times now, especially since their new album is almost out.
    Cups of coffee in insulated plastic cups that smell like my grandparents cabin. Sitting and staring at nothing in the afternoon sun. Reading Poemcrazy by Susan Goldsmith Wooldridge. I could go on, but I’ll just leave it at, I really liked your post. Thank you. 🙂

    • I enjoy your comment even more than the post I wrote! Totally dig your fall rituals and music taste. I can only imagine how beautiful fall will be in the mountains. Thank you for reading!

  9. Congratulations on Freshly Pressed! Loved this post. Fall is my absolute favorite season (this is most likely due to my being born in October…) and while it’s not original, my fave fall activity is making homemade caramel apples and eating them on a big floor-bed while watching a horror movie. OK, you got me, Charlie Brown’s Thanksgiving.
    xx

    • Andria,
      I love your fall tradition! I’ve never made caramel apples but I have always wanted to! I’ll have to try watching some Hitchcock movies and making caramel apples at some point this fall. Thanks for reading! I can’t wait to read your blog.

  10. Hi, I really love your blog! My blog, liv4fashionblog, is new and so far only has 4 posts… I’m working on them everyday 🙂 how did you get your blog to become so popular? Is it just by word of mouth or did you do some advertising?

    • Hey liv4fashion,
      I haven’t one any advertising, I just try to post often and read others blogs a lot. I would suggest finding a site like 20sb.net (if this is your age range, or another similar site) in addition to your blog here at WordPress so that you can meet other bloggers! They also have good tips like wordpress does on how to blog well. However, my site wasn’t really popular until today and it’s very possible that it will go back to being read less often after today’s freshly pressed! I’ll be sure to check out your blog. Good luck in your blogging adventures! Thanks for reading!

  11. I could see a waffle house putting you in a fall mood, I always think of fall as a perfect time for comfort food and I just love it as a season. The leaves changing colors is just always so pretty and I love the cooler breeze and weather.

    • I’m now obsessed with Waffle House for some reason. I just love the colors and obviously the food (especially pecan waffles). It’s more the shared experience that you get when you’re there, though, like everyone understands what it means to eat at Waffle House that I particularly loved and seemed to coincide well with the feeling the fall seems to bring about in everyone as well! Thanks for reading. I look forward to following your blog.

  12. Am here in Alberta, the Canadian Midwest. So the name of the game here is to enjoy our warm fall weeks right now because we get frickin’ cold winters……-25-35 degrees Celsius. (Ok use the Internet metric converters) with snow and ice. Our growing season is much shorter than Ontario and definitely shorter than southern British Columbia.

    I will be cycling as much as possible to enjoy rides where I don’t have to worry about sliding over ice and snow which I do in winter.

    • I’ve always wanted to visit Canada, but I’d definitely want to visit before winter as I don’t think I’d make it through the chill of winter! I hope you get to enjoy some cycling this weekend! Thanks for visiting and reading.

  13. There is no fall where I come from, but today I was very thankful to WordPress for featuring bloggers like you. I can’t wait to explore the rest of your site. Have a good fall into winter! 🙂

  14. Those were the mornings I lived for in school! I’d walk to class all sweater-ed up with a cup of coffee and bask in the fall colors and smells. Can’t wait to be back in school again, hopefully I do alright on the GRE today so I can have a couple more years of university-learning in my future 🙂 Enjoy school and the fall weather. Thanks for reading! Can’t wait to read and follow your blog.

  15. I very much enjoyed reading this blog! I too am excited for autumn. I love summer! But now since school has begun, I would like to get a little bit of chill in the air!
    I have a question too, though. I literally just joined this website last night and I was wondering if you could give me a rundown on how it works. Would be much appreciated!!
    Thanks (:

    • Thanks for reading! I hope we get a chill in the air as well!

      In terms of the site, my suggestion is to read, read, read just like you are doing and follow blogs that match your interests! You can even pick certain topics to follow which will open up your world to an amazing array of ideas. Then post meaningful content, comment on others work and let the magic of blogging begin! I wish you luck in your blogging endeavor and can’t wait to see the content you choose to post. Happy Blogging, thanks for reading!

  16. I walked out of my house this morning at 6.45am, it was misty and someone has started their Log Burner. The smell was fantastic, woody, earthy, smoky, and the air was chilly to boot. I bought a cook book recently called Long nights and Log fires, read it? I could lick the pages the pictures look so good!

    • That sounds so awesome! I must read it now! Thank you for your beautifully written comment and for reading. I hope you get to enjoy more mornings like the one you describe soon (and I hope I get to too!). Looking forward to reading your blog.

  17. Ah, fall… the greatest season of the year. I know where I am the prime indicator that fall is coming is that the night and early morning are finally cool. Instead of sweating a bucket walking to my car because it’s 85 degrees at 5am I am now comfortable as it’s down around 70.

    Cheers to pumpkins, apples, colored leaves and Fall!

    • Good points all around! It just now cooled down a bit here in this GA evening and the sky was a light blue with navy clouds settling into a faint peachy orange. It was beautiful!! Totally fall-y! Thanks for reading. Can’t wait to follow your blog.

  18. I relate to this post on many different levels! Being able to travel most of the country and end up planting my feet in Texas, fall doesn’t really happen until November. The talk of a “cold front” that is passing on through this weekend, is only able to lower our high to 95 degrees. I chuckle around this time every year when Starbucks starts pumping out their pumpkin spice latte’s, and are able to put everyone in a frenzy for sweaters and bonfires.

    • Well, I hope it cools down a little more for you soon! I agree, it’s hilarious how easy it is to get people to start “getting in a fall mood” a.k.a buy a whole bunch of stuff related to fall simply by tagging the word pumpkin, fall or spice on it. Thanks for reading and for your thoughtful comment! Looking forward to following your blog.

  19. LOVE fall and LOVE your taste in music! I’m listening to a lot of Dawes, Brandi Carlisle, and Mumford & Sons right now. Definitely putting me in the mood for fall — ready for sweaters, boots, crisp mornings, and some new pumpkin recipes!

    • I love your taste in music as well! Brandi Carlisle is so underrated, she has such an amazing voice and deserves more press in my opinion. I hope you get to enjoy some fall weather soon! Thanks for reading! I’m looking forward to following your blog.

  20. Nice post. I actually made my own pumpkin spice lattes at home last week but still squealed in delight when I saw Starbucks rolled out the PSL this week. I was just thinking to myself this afternoon, it feels like the onset of fall because I was able to do some yardwork in the middle of the afternoon – not the crack of dawn as has been the case all summer.

    • I love that you made your own PSL. Is there a recipe on your blog because I would love to try it myself!! Thank you for reading. I’m actually jealous of your yardworking (I don’t have a yard, haha). Something about raking leaves and pulling weeds makes me think of fall. Thank you for reading and I look forward to following your blog.

      • I actually don’t have a recipe on my blog – found one last year on WordPress (was a freshly pressed article). That recipe called for canned pumpkin. I subsequently googled this topic and came across a great suggestion – using pumpkin butter. I’ve found that the Torani pumpkin syrup doesn’t make my lattes taste anything like the Starbucks PSL, but using a good quality pumpkin butter does.

        I add about two spoonfuls to the milk while it is steaming and also add in a little bit of vanilla syrup (but you can also use vanilla extract). Once the milk mixture is steamed and frothed (use a whisk) I add it to the espresso. You can always add more sugar or pumpkin butter to suit your taste.

    • Thanks for reading! Yes, it is very sad to part with summer and the lackadaisical activities associated with it, but I’m looking forward to the cooler weather, hikes in the mountains and the hibernation that will follow fall. I’ll be sure to check out your blog and your post!

  21. Pingback: dear sweden « Enjoy Not Knowing·

  22. Autumn has always been my favourite time of the year… as in London the leaves go brown in all the parks and Halloween is on it’s way and it’s genuinely thrilling to get to wear mittens again for the first time on Bonfire Night! Plus being cosy indoors with a hot drink when it’s cold outside is the best thing in the world!

    • Alexandra,
      I am so jealous you have a Bonfire Night!! I want to have one and I want to wear mittens! It’s just now started to get a little chilly here, so I think I will just have to create a bonfire night here! Thanks for reading, can’t wait to follow your blog.

  23. Each fall, I get in touch with that Martha Stewart gene that wants to put potted mums out on the front porch and arrange them with pumpkins. I long to wear henleys and and jeans and put away my summer clothes. I bake apples because I love the smell.

    • Haha! I love this! I start to get a little Martha-Stewart-y around the holidays as well and decorate my boyfriend and I’s charlie brown christmas tree to the 9s as if it were a real tree. I hope you enjoy some fall crafting and baking soon. Thanks for reading and I look forward to following your blog.

  24. Your blog article is wonderful, Your expressing how you feel while relating to so many by the akward stage of season changes. I can not wait for cooler breezes and comfy sweaters untill than i will be sweating haha.

  25. Fall is my favorite season! I live in Cali so it’s hardly “fall-ish”. I wanna whip out my scarves and boots already!

    • I’m totally with you! Regardless of the weather, when September comes around, I’m ready to hop into jeans in a sweater and do harvest-y things like picking a pumpkin or doing a corn maze! Thanks for reading! I look forward to following your blog.

    • Thanks Nic! I find it also creeps into my writing and art as well. I start embracing a different aesthetic with each season. Thanks for reading. I look forward to following your blog.

  26. Can I just say how much I love this post for so many reasons?! #1 Fall is my favorite season mostly because coffee tastes better with a slight chill in the air, and I am a coffeeholic. #2 My birthday is smack in the middle of fall – near the end of October – and I love my birthday. #3 My wedding anniversary is in the middle of October – and that was probably one of the funnest and definitely most memorable days in the history of ever! So as you were saying with the happy moments returning in a similar context – some of the best memories of my life have all taken place in fall, and I can revisit them in a more tangible way every time the leaves start to change to warmer hues and the air gets its crisp back! Another reason I love this post – Waffle House was the standard reunion place for my two best gal pals and I all of our college years. Even now that we’re graduated and married with different and opposing schedules – when we are all able to get together again – we make a trip back to Waffle House, loaded down with quarters for the juke box and it feels like we’re back in college again. 🙂 Thanks for the lovely thoughts!

    • Amanda, thanks for reading and I’m about to read your post about fall as well because it’s such a fun time of year, I’m getting all wrapped up in it now 🙂 I will try to continue to deliver the best content I can 🙂

  27. I’ve been in such a fall mood as well! I actually just wrote about it before reading this post. Its sheer stubbornness when I keep on my fall coat because I’ve planned my whole outfit around it but Chicago insists on being eighty degrees. I think fall instills a sort of nostalgia in me, thanksgiving and halloween spurring memories of the past and thankfulness for the loved ones in my life. It’s a very different season than summer, I guess that’s why it’s a different season! This was a great post.

    • Well said! I completely agree. I also have a problem with continuing to loo ahead instead of enjoying the current season. In summer I always start to look forward to fall way too early, in fall I start to yearn for winter too early, etc. I hope that I take a little time to enjoy each season this year 🙂 Thanks for reading and I look forward to following your blog.

    • Haha, but you’ve got to love the dilapidated charm of some Waffle Houses! (Although some are rather new and nice like the one in Tech Square in Atlanta). Nice way of phrasing it though 😉 Hope you get to enjoy some fall weather and food soon. Thanks for reading, I look forward to following you.

  28. Your post really got me excited for fall, it’s really my favorite season. Strangely, I love your picture of the hanging bulb light from Waffle House. I wish they had Waffle Houses in PA. It just dropped below the 80’s here this weekend, and I’m very much looking forward to the moment when we can finally smell it. That’s the best part.

    • Yes, you should make a pilgrimage to WAHO. I’m sorry there aren’t any close to you, there’s just something about the place! I hope you get to enjoy some more cool, fall weather soon. Thank you for reading, I look forward to following your blog.

    • Haha, thank you Zanni, it’s not quite fall feeling yet temperature-wise, but that doesn’t stop me from feeling the fall mood inside! Thanks for reading, can’t wait to follow your blog.

    • Yes, it doesn’t quite feel like fall temperature-wise, but that doesn’t stop me from getting that Fall-feeling inside! Thanks for reading! I look forward to following your blog.

  29. I live in Florida so Fall simply means the wind is starting to pick up, and has a very slight edge of coolness to it! It doesn’t hit Truly fall until October. But I do love the season change, even the wind feels great 🙂

  30. It’s funny how we all seem to jump headfirst into fall the moment September starts. The previous day could have still been August, but that’s just details because September equals fall. 😉 Love it. My favorite time of the year. I cannot wait for my fall wardrobe. Scarves, hats, and coats = Heaven.

    • Yes it’s like a fall switch is turned on at a certain point and there’s no turning back. I feel like it would get cooler and leaves would change in the middle of summer if all of society decided it were fall! Thanks so much for reading!

  31. Pingback: Happy Autumn + NFL Music Poll Update « NMNPHX·

  32. I love everything to do with fall. It is all very commercial I agree, but there is just something about apple crisp, layers, pumpkins and children playing in leaves that makes me feel all warm and fuzzy.

  33. For me it’s the smell of fall there is a certain crisp smell that happens when the ground frosts over night an starts the thaw in the morning. It’s always then that I purchase a can o pumpkin and start adding it to every recipe possible and putting pumpkin pie spice in my coffee each morning. I love fall!

  34. Pingback: A Slightly Less-Jewish Fall Feeling | Title Under Construction·

Leave a Reply

