A Delectable Menu

William Carlos Williams

A pretty handsome guy. He was a doctor, but worked harder at being a writer than physician.

I’ve discovered that I’m quite obsessed with William Carlos Williams.  This is no surprise to me.  He is a visual writer.  Every moment, everything he writes is simple and so vivid.  He also had a career, but preferred to spend time writing.  I discovered him this morning as I was avoiding getting ready for work which is a typical thing for me to do at 4am.

So I’ve designed a delectable menu for this weekend.  It will be the dessert of my week.   I plan to read: Jonathan Carrol, Raymond Carver, and Anais Nin and of course WCW and Allen Ginsberg as well, how could I not?  I plan to make banana ice cream, hummus and falafel and take cliche instagram photos of my food all hipster-like.  I plan to use my typewriter…just because and I will start the journey of creating the artwork for my novel with a starting trip to the art store for ink.

In the words of WCW:
“The descent beckons
as the ascent beckoned”
William Carlos Williams

Life needs to be lived.  I feel so stifled at work and working.  I don’t consider writing work.  I don’t consider my art work.  I don’t consider quality time with family and friends to be work.  The hours in which I live, I mean really live, not sit in a zombie state of unhappiness, have been constrained to 4am-6am, 11am-12pm, 6pm-9pm, so basically out of 24 hours, only 6 of them are for me.
Yes, I’m complaining.  I know I’m complaining: I hate being an adult.  There are many pros, sure, but the debt you pay for the creativity, imagination and freedom of childhood, the sacrifice of being human, so to speak,  is that we must provide for ourselves.

This weekend, I will be selfish, I will try to recapture the carefree disposition that I never truly had.

Photo

“Writing is not a searching about in the daily experience for apt similes and pretty thoughts and images… It is not a conscious recording of the day’s experiences ‘freshly and with the appearance of reality’… The writer of imagination would find himself released from observing things for the purpose of writing them down later. He would be there to enjoy, to taste, to engage the free world, not a world which he carries like a bag of food, always fearful lest he drop something or someone get more than he.”
William Carlos Williams, Spring and All

I leave you with a poem, by WCW:

This is Just to Say

I have eaten
the plums
that were in
the icebox

and which
you were probably
saving
for breakfast

Forgive me
they were delicious
so sweet
and so cold”
William Carlos Williams

3 responses to “A Delectable Menu

Leave a Reply

