Journey Walk: Day 1

I’ve always been fond of journeys.  Time-travel, personal growth, physical growth, space, cross-country, you name it, I’ve either read it, watched it or want to read or watch it.

On the Road, Jack Keroac. One of the first books that made me aspire to write.

It’s the core of being a human being.  Everything in our society is a journey because we consider our lives and time to be linear.

A great depiction of an emotional journey.

Ever since my life was put in motion on a different path than expected when my parents divorced, I’ve been in a whirlwind trying to chart out who I am, what I want to do and with whom I want to spend my life.  Taking time out to document what I’ve learned and taken from the many experiences I’ve had took a backseat for “later.”

A picture from my journey to the Mississippi Delta.

I realize now that there is no “later.”  Anything I think is important to do “someday,” is important to do today.  I always said, “when I’m 24, when I’m an adult.”  Well, now I’m here and I certainly don’t feel like I thought I would.  I definitely don’t feel like an adult.  But time is ticking away, there’s no time to waste planning for a later that may never happen the way I imagine it in my head.   So this new thread within my blog dedicated to self-publishing my creative writing is an homage to the many journey’s I’ve had or seen.

A picture from my journey punting in Oxford, England.

I’m hoping that my reflection on where I’ve been will better help me visualize and achieve my dream.   I hope to keep this blog updated as often as possible as I work full time, take the GRE, apply to grad school and hopefully complete my first novel.

Join me on my OriginalJourney and share your own OriginalJourney.  If it relates to you or if you simply want to share a journey, this is the place to do it!  We’re all Originals in our own OriginalLife.

Leave a Reply

